There Is a Price To Pay For Freedom (And It Isn’t Security), Laetitia Sadier

Some crucial insights from Laetitia Sadier around this song, from an interview with the Quietus:

Speaking of ‘There’s A Price To Pay For Freedom, And It Isn’t Security’, is that a response to the old quote about sacrificing freedom for security and deserving neither?

LS: You mean the George Bush government and the general trend at the moment?

Yes.

LS: It’s totally about that. The deeper ramification is that it affects us very, very deeply in our psyches, and we become very fearful of everything. I realized that the biggest concern for people is not necessarily security. It’s jobs and being able to do things and making sure their children have care and things like that. This whole security thing is a complete fabrication. The way I look at it also is not only to manipulate people and to control people, and to make sure they don’t get together to fight the system to take over the power, their legitimate power, but also I think it’s a means to make people consume, to make people feel very insecure, and to give them brand names, for instance, as significance to their lives. And I think that’s very pervasive.

We had this thing about fighting the man and not working for the man and being independent and not waiting for institutions to give us anything, especially not happiness. Our purpose was to be independent. I just don’t see that at all as even a thought process in the youth today. I don’t see any politicization of the pop music today. Maybe some art. But politics in terms of wanting to determine your future, I don’t really see that. There are a few movements maybe in other art which will be ‘save the planet’ kinds of things.

But I find we’ve barely scratched the surface to sort out the economics and the financial system, which itself is exploitative of nature and of people, and I feel that very deeply, our identities have been stripped from us. The very idea that we can make for ourselves has been stripped from us. If I buy this product, then I will feel much more secure about myself and therefore I will be happier. Which of course isn’t true. It’s not true at all. In fact, it can lead some people to [commit] suicide when they realize that they bought all the Chanel lipsticks and Christian Dior eye shadows and Nike shoes, and they don’t feel better about themselves.

I like this song. I wasn’t sure at first, and then it hit me how good the lyrics are, and how deeply they go into this problem of identifying with merchandise more than something sacred about being human or what it means to be creative. The divinity within life, or behind life, and embracing emotions, feelings. Embracing what it is to be alive and celebrating. So, I really like this song. I’m very proud of this song.

Leave a comment

Filed under interviews, manifestos, protest song ancestors, protest songs, truth speakers

Leave a Reply

